The Daily Street 008 - Hackman


Following on from the Eccy post, there's The Daily Street: 008, with Hackman. Hackman's take on the whole progression of garage always seems to be a step ahead of the imitators, and here he slings together a quality mix of garage and house without letting it get too polite. Watch out for the James Fox making a sneaky appearance too.

The majority of the tunes are exclusive and unreleased (except for the Motor City Remix). The vibe is upbeat and quirky and follows a similar mould to xxxy's 002 mix. The last year has been a big one for Hackman, and he’s released three eps, and had a number of remixes for Bassanovva, Lemonade, and The Phantom. Be sure to check them out.

Hackman is best known for his work in the realms of UK Funky, having key releases on labels such as PTN, Shifting Peaks and Well Rounded. To anyone that is well read on the UK Funky and Bass Music scene that is taking over the UK at the moment, these labels should be ringing big alarm bells in your head. However, as time moves on we all move with it and it seems that Hackman has left the UK Funky movement to head into the world of House, and when listening to this mix I don’t feel that this is in any way a bad thing. It all seems to be being chucked under the large umbrella genre that is “Bass Music” these days anyway. 50 minutes of incredible music, a large chunk of which was made by the man himself, with near flawless mixing ability, mixtape 008 sits beautifully alongside our more recent mixes whilst still holding it’s own as an individual

01. Skips – Smokey Joez [Unreleased]
02. Kowton – Drunk on Sunday [Idle Hands]
03. Archie Bronson Outfit – Hoola (Motor City Drum Ensemble Remix) [Domino]
04. Cosmic Revenge – Renegade [Unreleased]
05. James Fox – Found a Way [Unreleased]
06. Jack Dixon – Needin’ U [Silverback Recordings]
07. Hackman – Your Face Pulling My Hair [Unreleased]
08. Kowton – She Don’t Jack [Idle Hands]
09. Hackman – Untitled [Unreleased]
10. i11even – Untitled [Unreleased]
11. Akilles & Knyt – RItual [Unreleased]
12. Littlefoot – Sell My Soul [Unreleased]
13. Kingthing – You Know [Unreleased]
14. Hackman – Always (Falty DL Remix) [Shifting Peaks]
15. George Fitzgerald – Weakness [Hotflush]

TDS Mix 008: Hackman by The Daily Street
Right Click here to download.

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails